IFORS Hall of Fame


Following a proposal by Heiner Muller-Merbach, former IFORS President and editorial board member of International Transactions in Operational Research, the IFORS' Operational Research Hall of Fame was created in 2003. Citations for the inductees are published in each issue. We are grateful to the Publishers, Blackwell, for making them freely available.The Hall of Fame gives an opportunity to celebrate the significant contributions made by the OR pioneers and those who have followed in their footsteps. Such contributions may be to methodology, to applications, to the advancement of IFORS or its member societies, to OR in and for developing countries, to teaching and program development, to organization and management of OR, and to the international dissemination of OR knowledge and understanding.

The inductees into the Hall of Fame were chosen by a panel consisting of presidents of IFORS member societies, members of the Administrative Committee of IFORS, the editors and members of the editorial board of ITOR, and individuals specially selected to provide historical perspective and geographical balance.

Members of the panel were asked to make nominations for inclusion in the Hall of Fame, followed by a vote to determine the first 11 inductees whose citations appeared during 2003 and 2004. Full information about the votes was shared with the selection panel, before a second round of voting was carried out in 2004 to choose the 12 inductees for 2005 and 2006.

Induction into the Hall of Fame

From 2023, inductions into the IFORS Hall of Fame will be considered once every three years.  All Presidents of IFORS Member Societies are invited to make nominations and will vote on the nominees. The IFORS Administrative Committee is in charge of the final choice of new inductees, if any. The new (maximum of three) inductees will be announced during the triennial conference.