Message from the President

I am honoured to have been elected the 23rd President of IFORS. The other members of the Administrative Committee for this 2022-2024 term include Past-President Grazia Speranza, Vice-President Frits Spieksma, Treasurer Richard Hartl and the four Regional Vice-Presidents: Antonio Mauttone (ALIO), Francis Miranda (APORS), Stefan Nickel (EURO) and Rina Schneur (NORAM).

May I express our deep appreciation to members of the previous AC under the leadership of President Grazia Speranza, for their dedication, energy and initiative in service of IFORS. Together with the current AC, I look forward to continue their efforts in support of IFORS Member Societies and in promoting Operational Research around the world.

Operational Research was created out of necessity, where scientists of different disciplines – mathematics, physics, engineering, statistics, psychology --- were brought together to help develop solutions for the pressing problems arising in a war situation. Since then, the use of Operational Research has spread across almost all industries: production, transportation, communications, services, finance, etc. Throughout OR’s development, a firm theoretical underpinning for its methods and effective applicability in their implementation have always been intertwined.

In the past two years, as with the early OR days, multi-disciplinary and multi-locational teams of OR scientists have responded to the challenges to control the spread of the epidemic and to find cures, as part of the global effort to combat the Covid19 pandemic.

As Operational Researchers, I believe that we can play a critical role in developing solutions to the many complex global challenges that are facing the world today. As the global federation of OR societies, IFORS has the responsibility to promote the use of OR and the sharing of knowledge and best practices across the world. The Administrative Committee and I look forward to working with all of you in that effort.

Janny Leung

IFORS President 2022-2024